Tuesday, August 13, 2013

2013 Willie Mac Award Contenders

This might a moot topic for an already dismal season, but the annual Willie Mac Award will again be awarded at season's end. The award is presented to the player that exudes the spirit and leadership that Stretch provided during his career more so than any statistical data.  The award started in 1980 with Jack Clark being the first recipient, and last year's winner was Buster Posey. Since 1980, only three players have won the award twice, Mike Krukow (1985-86), J.T. Snow (1997, 2004), Bengie Molina (2007-08). This year, it appears the award has four legit candidates in the running. Our guess is that Hunter Pence, Sergio Romo, Buster Posey, and Madison Bumgarner are in the fore front. Ultimately, our gut instinct says that Pence will get the nod - he'll have the benefit of sparking the club during the postseason last year, and he's been steady this year as well.

Willie McCovey

No comments: